Pop Culture Christianity

I mentioned in my first Antiwhite Nihilism post, “Paper Christians”, that most Christians in the West have a number of beliefs that contradict what’s actually written in scripture. With non-Christians, the situation is worse. Abysmal actually. Many non-Christians nowadays couldn’t communicate even the most basic tenets of the Christian faith. In a Western country whose foundations are partly informed by Christianity and where most people go to church at least in their youth, this is surprising to say the least. Much of what people know is a smattering of biblical quotes mixed with social experiences they’ve had with Christians (good or bad) mixed with things they’ve seen in popular media (fictional and otherwise). Here are some of those beliefs:

  • God rules the world
  • Satan/demons are frightening
  • “The devil made me do it”
  • Christians hate those they identify as sinners
  • Christians are hypocrites
  • Christians are stupid and ignorant and have never doubted their faith
  • God is a bearded old white man who lives in the sky
  • Jesus was a bearded, brown-haired white man
  • Jesus is a weak, wispy, “nice”, milquetoast person

I’m sure that some of my readers could add to this list. This is simply a list of things I’ve picked up over the years. I used to believe some of them myself (the first and second one). Some of these things are at least partially true. Some Christians are hateful. Some Christians are hypocrites. Some are ignorant and stupid and have never questioned their faith. The last of three are common representations of certain elements of Christianity I’ve seen in pop culture (think South Park’s version of Jesus).

Because you may not see it anywhere else, I think it’s important to address these misconceptions with biblically correct teaching. I don’t see this concept addressed directly in many places, so I guess I’ll start. I recommend that anyone reading comment on this post if you have something to add.

First, God does not currently rule the world. Our world is currently ruled by an evil spirit that wants to destroy us. While being tempted in the wilderness, Jesus was offered all of the kingdoms of the world. He does not deny that the devil can give Him that. He simply refuses. Throughout this passage, the devil is trying to tempt Jesus. This is much closer to how evil often operates in the Bible (and in real life). However, it’s not unusual to meet even Christians who think that spiritual evil looks more like it does in horror movies. They believe they’ll be besieged openly by terrifying dark forces that would send even the most inveterate atheists screaming straight to a Bible.

That’s not how this works.

Demons are not God. They are not omnipotent. They don’t have access to all information about a person in the way that God does. I don’t think that most evil in the world has anything to do, directly or indirectly, with the actions of demons. Most evil arises from our own evil desires. Demons may have a hand in certain evils in the world, but they are working through people who willingly participate due to their own defects in character. No one, devil or otherwise, is making them do evil. As I stated in The Gospel of Satan, temptation only works on the fallen. Those with perfect character who have no evil desires (that is, Jesus) will never give in to temptation [EDIT: Based on the words of readers who I consider to be people of good will and my own thinking, I’ve decided I should put a note here. I don’t think it’s entirely correct to say Jesus had “no evil desires”. He certainly felt the temptations we feel, but he never gave in to temptation. Here’s an article that may help clear up the confusion for anyone else who thought the same. I still have more learning to do on the subject as well.]

Older works of literature do a much better job of depicting how evil actually functions. Works like Faust or The Picture of Dorian Gray depict people making deals to obtain material wealth or pleasure. This kind of story reveals an ancient truth that many people knew before the arrival of Christ – hedonism defeats itself. If I were asked to describe what the Enemy really wants, it’s definitely not to frighten you directly. It’s to make you soft, fat, and comfortable. Being righteous will require some sacrifice or hardship from us. The fear comes in when you have to sacrifice your comfort and pleasure for what is right. If you’re accustomed to living in a hedonistic state, however, when the time comes for you to make a stand, you’ll be too weak. I may discuss this topic in more detail in a later post.

Like I said, some Christians are hateful, hypocritical, and ignorant. As far as hypocrisy goes, becoming a Christian doesn’t eliminate all sinfulness from a person on this side of heaven. We must practice righteousness daily. If we do it right, then we get better over time. Identifying someone as a sinner is not indicative of personal hatred. It means that the person has violated God’s Law. Everyone has sinned and fallen short of God’s glory. This is why we require a Savior. Ignorance varies from person to person. There are brilliant Christians and there are dull ones. Most are somewhere in between, and many lose or at least question their faith at some point. Some come back. I may do a post on my own journey at some point.

The depiction of God as an old, robed man in the sky isn’t necessarily derisive when it occurs in a work of art. However, it’s a common barb thrown by those trying to highlight the apparent silliness of the Christian faith. You may have heard similar insults that refer to God or Jesus as an imaginary friend. The Bible never describes God as being like a man. The Bible specifically states that His nature, form, and character are not like a man’s. He is spirit. If someone were to ask me what I think God is like, I’d say He’s probably like a field. When I say “field”, I mean like the electromagnetic field. This field extends throughout all of space. At every point in space at a given time, a vector can be drawn. The difference is that God is a living, conscious, personal Being. He has power over all other fields and is the source of their existence. Probably not the best analogy, but that’s what I imagine God might be like. No man in the sky.

As far as Jesus’ appearance goes, He no doubt looked like a brown-skinned Middle Eastern man because He was descended from a Middle Eastern people. He was neither black nor white. A youtuber called Metatron has a nice video on His appearance.

The final point on this list has been an interesting one for me to think about personally. Jesus is often described or depicted as being a generically “nice”, weak, milquetoast person. Someone whom you could never imagine saying a harsh word. Everything Pop Jesus says makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. This is interesting for a couple of reasons. I mentioned the South Park depiction because it encapsulates what I mean. I believe the reason Pop Jesus is often depicted as being weak is because our own internal ability to be and do good is weak. Our fallen nature overwhelms us so often that we believe on some level that evil is stronger. Size is often used in art to express how intensely something feels. In the clip, Saitama (the caped baldy) doesn’t literally turn into a giant. We are looking at an artistic depiction of how Genos (the cyborg) feels about the magnitude of the threat he’s facing. I believe the relative size of Satan and Jesus in South Park is an example of this idea. You see the same thing indirectly in many horror movies. The idea that evil can never be completely overcome.

Another reason this piques my interest is how much people in the world seem to be attached to the idea of Jesus. Jesus is often contrasted with “the God of the Old Testament”. People love to cherry pick His teachings and remove them from the full context of the Bible. As if Jesus came to do away with the Law as opposed to fulfill its requirements for us. People will literally make up an imaginary-friend version of Jesus who validates their every decision. What’s really surprising is how often non-Christians will do this. What’s the point? It’s something I’ve never fully understood. Maybe some of my readers can put their own ideas in the comments.

I hope someone gains some insight from this. I think it’s important for believers and nonbelievers alike to have an awareness of the difference between pop Christianity and actual Christianity. This is a difference that needs to be addressed explicitly now more than ever based on what I’ve been seeing and hearing. Use it in your ministry.

Published by manrepairman

My goal is to help repair broken thoughts.

Join the Conversation

14 Comments

  1. “If I were asked to describe what the Enemy really wants, it’s definitely not to frighten you directly. It’s to make you soft, fat, and comfortable.”

    This is the only thing in your post that I would temporize over. I think C.S. Lewis had it right in The Screwtape Letters. In some ages and places, the demons wish to make a man fat and complacent. In others, they wish to make him an evil zealot. In others, a terrified servant. Many indigenous tribesmen in the remote corners of South America, Southeast Asia and Africa live/lived in intense spiritual darkness and mortal fear of demons in the jungle. I don’t think that all of this fear simply stemmed from superstitious tribesmen not understanding how nature works. Though since you are addressing Western problems, perhaps you are correct in context and I am just nitpicking.

    For the rest, every man who does his part to correct these misconceptions is doing our Lord’s work.

    Like

    1. That’s an excellent point. Thank you for the comment. My focus for this post was definitely on contemporary Western society. I would also add that for many people in the West, religion is simply seen as an element of life that’s supposed to serve the individuals needs. They pick and choose and use their spiritual beliefs to decorate their lives like they would decorate a room. They can hardly register the idea that they may need to conform their lives to serve something higher and greater than themselves and their petty desires.

      I find myself becoming more interested in the beliefs and behaviors of indigenous peoples now and of our more primitive predecessors. I think there’s a great deal we could learn from it. I think it would also be instructive for people who want to abandon Christianity and go back to whatever their ancestors were doing to learn EXACTLY what their ancestors were doing.

      Like

      1. Agree — a lot of missionaries in undeveloped pagan countries also report that some extremely weird stuff goes on, and of course priests who get appointed as exorcists end up running into all sorts of bad stuff right in suburban America. So I suspect demons pick their targets for showy use of their power, and mess with people mostly on special occasions or times of vulnerability.

        I’ve only once run into serious levels of demonic “clearly something is messing with the physical world” stuff, as opposed to normal temptations. And that was when I was podcasting St. Athanasius’ biography of St. Anthony the Great — specifically when I was recording the parts about St. Anthony efficiently dealing with demons through fairly ordinary means, and encouraging monks to treat demons as a sort of natural annoyance, like flies and gnats. Man, it was Murphy’s Law turned up to 11 with every piece of equipment I had, and then it all went away once I uploaded the last segment of the book’s podcast. Twits.

        Like

  2. Excellent piece! Came here from John C. Wright’s post with the link. The “Jesus is nice and boring” is a trope that I became aware of early and am always happy to disabuse people of.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment. It’s not just Jesus. It’s the portrayal of “goodness” in general as being weak and wishy-washy. Speaking as a millennial, I’ve noticed a tendency in my generation to think that evil or “problematics” arise in part from people believing in anything too strongly. That appears to have changed for the Woke crowd, but part of the reason the other members of my generation are so ineffective in fighting the Woke is because they lack any strong commitments to a higher power.

      Like

    2. Even as a teenager (in the early 70s) I noticed this. There was that episode of Star Trek in which the Enterprise somehow gets split into two parallel universes, and all the good goes one way and all the bad goes the other way. “Bad” Kirk was cruel and vindictive of course, but also bold and decisive, and that struck me as off. “Good” Kirk was merciful, and just, I suppose. And easy-going, and weak and vacillating. Unlike, say, St. Patrick and St. Francis and St. Jean de Brebeuf, of whom I suppose Gene Roddenberry had never heard. Unless it was that “Brother Sun, Sister Moon” St. Francis. Gag.

      “Peaks”, by the way, should be “piques”.

      Like

      1. Thanks for commenting. Once you start seeing it, you’ll see it all over pop culture. I think it’s also connected to how modern society denigrates masculinity in men. A “good” man is a weak man. That’s why “bad” Kirk was bold and decisive while “good” Kirk was a wuss.

        Like

  3. I think that breakdown of Kirk in that episode is mischaracterizing. It was not that “Good is weak” and “Evil is strong”. It was that these were components of the man’s soul separated from each other, and needing each other to fuction. Yes, “evil Kirk” seemed bold and decisive. But he was also impulsive, fearful and had no ability to overcome those weaknesses. He had no discipline, self control or empathy. When he became angry, afraid or lust-filled, he had no abilty to stop himself. He also was incapable of considering situations beyond the moment in front of him. The empathy, compassion and understanding from his “weak self” were instrumental in overcoming their quandry. That’s the thing, equating decisiveness and boldness to strength, and those other things to weakness, when that is not true. A strong man, a strong person, needs several things to truly be so. In reality, both versions of Kirk, without these elements, were weak.

    Like

  4. I don’t know how much time you have but if you have some for podcasts, I’ve been really recommending to people this one by some Orthodox priests.
    http://www.ancientfaith.com/podcasts/lordofspirits

    In relation to part of your post, I’m going to paste this part from the transcript of their first Halloween episode. (Sorry the formatting may be a bit weird. Using my phone.)

    This is from—I’ll give the reference again, for people who want to nerd—it’s Andrew Lang’s book, The Making of Religion. This is a religious anthropology text, and this is from pages 281-282. He’s talking about the transition from the worship of a most high god to the worship of a whole series of lesser gods and sort of the dying away of direct worship of that most high god in pretty much, essentially all pagan cultures, as a historical event that happens in their religious development. He says:

    A moral creator in no need of gifts, and opposed to lust and mischief, will not help men with love-spells, or with malevolent sending of disease by witchcraft; will not favor one man above his neighbor, or one tribe above its rivals, as reward for sacrifice, which he does not accept, or as constrained by charms, which do not touch his omnipotence. Ghosts and ghost-gods, on the other hand, in need of food and blood, afraid of spells and binding charms, are a corrupt, but, to man, a useful constituency. Man being what he is, man was certain to go a whoring after practically useful ghouls, ghosts, ghost-gods and fetishes, which he could keep in his wallet or medicine bag. For these he was sure, in the long run, first to neglect his idea of his creator; next, perhaps, to reckon him as only one, if the highest, of the venal rabble of spirits or deities, and to sacrifice to him as to them. And this is exactly what happened.

    So the Most High God, the reason he becomes sort of irrelevant to worshipers is that he doesn’t need anything, he’s not going to be swayed by anything…

    Fr. Andrew: So there’s no deal they can make.

    Fr. Stephen: Right. “Shall not the judge of all the earth do right?” and God, as the Old Testament says, does not delight in the blood of bulls and goats. Well, if I want to get someone to fall in love with me or if I want to curse my enemy, or if I want to get somebody on my side so that I can defeat my neighboring tribe in war—there’s nothing I can do with the Most High God. But if we have our own god and they have theirs, maybe I can bribe theirs into coming over onto our side and letting us win, or maybe I can get this or that spirit of the woods to do what I want in terms of making this person fall in love with me, or cursing this person. So it becomes sort of more pragmatically useful to shift one’s devotion and attention to these gods with whom you think you might be able to set up a quid pro quo of some sort.

    Like

  5. Oh and to be that guy… God is a man. Because Jesus was a man, and He is fully God as well. 😉 (His beard status is up to Him.)

    God is also the flaming fire of the Holy Spirit and the gentle whisper of the Father.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started